Tenant Defaulting On Vanderbilt Mortgage. What Typically Happens Next?

One of my tenants who is elderly and terminally ill has informed me that he is moving out of the park and in with one of his children.  His mobile home is mortgaged through Vanderbilt.  He said that he has informed them that he has tried unsuccessfully to sell the home for what he still owes and that he will let them repo the home.  Apparently he still owes a little over $30,000 for the home.I’m new to this situation and trying to find out what to expect next.  Do they typically make contact with the park owner when this occurs?Do they leave the home in the park without paying rent until they resell it and then send a mover over unannounced to remove it?Is there a department within Vanderbilt that I can call that will shed some light on the situation?    

You need to call Vanderbilt immediately. This is a situation in which being proactive is extremely important. Tell them everything that’s happened and that you really don’t want to lose the home in the park. See if they can allow you to re-sell the home, as it sits, to another tenant and have them carry the paper with an appropriate amount down. The reason your tenant failed to sell the home is that he wanted $30,000 cash. That’s rarely going to happen, as most park tenants do not have great credit. However, from Vanderbilt’s position, the home is already there and in default, and they are in the business of carrying paper on mobile homes. The cheapest solution for everyone is to allow you to market the home and find a new borrower on that note. It’s a win/win.