Software for Tracking & Presenting Adjusted Proforma

Hello,

First I’d like to thank Frank and Dave for the resources & education they provide. I’m just getting started & finished Dave’s Mobile Home Park Investing Book and liked the profit and loss statement with seller proforma and adjusted proforma spreadsheet (eg proforma/adjusted Cap Rate, Cash on Cash return estimate, etc

Does anyone have a preferred software package that facilitates tracking presenting current and proforma income and expense numbers and then computing investment metrics such as cap rate, ROI, cash on cash, GRM, etc…Id like to find a software package that can use to capture data and generate reports for use for my own assessments and in negotiating price with sellers, financing with banks, etc…

Thanks,

Mike

I use a product from rentalsoftware dot com

Cash Flow Analyzer®

Investment Analysis Software

It is pretty easy to use and even has a mobile home park choice when picking asset type.

I build my own models in Apple Numbers (I used to use Microsoft Excel, but am switching over to being an all-Apple fanboy (:P) ). But regardless of which spreadsheet you use (or software package), be guided by Carveth Read’s maxim that “It is better to be vaguely right, than exactly wrong.”

Financial models can give a false sense of reliability. The deals I buy I can pencil-out on the back of an envelope and know whether it is going to be a good deal or not. I don’t need a spread sheet to tell me my cap rate to 5 decimal places in order to make a ‘go / no go’ decision.

My 2.06852 cents worth,

-jl-

1 Like

I find the software helpful to track lots of moving parts… so I can snapshot it, the say- if I put in 25,000 over the next year-and that does this to the return… then what. And 25,000 the year after that.