Self Directed IRA and UBIT on financing

Looking at MHP purchases, and note that many of the threads here (or most) deal w financing a significant part of the purchase. How are you all–who use retirement accounts–buying MHPs? If financed, my understanding is that the rental income and sale income will be taxed as a percentage of the portion that was financed, and at an estate/corp (40%) rate, the tax being called UBIT (unrelated business income tax).

Anyone out there with experience along these lines?

Hi Jim,

I am a former tax lawyer and I have to say, that is a very complicated situation that really requires a lawyer to sign off on. Tax-advantaged retirement accounts have strict rules and you can very easily trip over them if you are not an expert (which I am not).

Advice from people here who have done the same thing (if there are any) will give you a general idea of the financial picture, but for the details you want to have your situation blessed by a true tax lawyer (not just an accountant or your brokerage firm’s advisor) The penalty for misusing your retirement account funds can be very severe. You want someone who has malpractice insurance that will cover you if you get into trouble with the IRS.

That said, I think it’s a very neat way to generate returns from all of your assets and I’d be interested to hear if anyone has set things up this way.

– Note, I am assuming the idea is to fund a purchase with retirement account money, but have the net income stream returned to you currently and maybe some interest going back into the retirement account.

Brandon@Sandell

My advice is that if you are purchasing more than one property in your IRA, set up separate IRAs. That way, if you do something the IRS deems to be ‘bad’ and it declares your IRA to be taxable, it is ‘just’ the IRA that invested in that particular property that becomes taxable.

You’d buy separate MHPs in separate LLCs for asset protection. Similarly, finance your MHPs with separate IRAs.