Screening for Lonnie Deal Buyers

First off, I’m a newbie, so don’t flame me too hard. :slight_smile:

I’ve done a search of the forum for screening tools that others have had good luck with. It seems like rentalresearch.com is a favorite for people that will be leasing properties.

Is that an appropriate tool for screening buyers for Lonnie deals?

What are the main things you look for in a buyer, compared to what you would look for in a rental?

Are there any better companies out there for screening a buyer (vs. a renter)?

Thanks,

Dave

Dave,

I don’t use a service to screen a buyer (other than the park) and have had good luck overall. For me I want a criminal report, a credit report and references including that last couple of landlords.

Now as far as the criminal report make them get it. This is a bit of a test becuase if they can’t do this then they will not work out as your buyer. On the criminal report you want to just make sure they are pretty clean but they don’t have to be squeeky clean. For me I work in parks that will not allow anyone with a felony conviction so that is my rule as well (with one exception so far that actually worked out great… but thats another story). I would also not take a buyer who has any history of domestic issues as that is a big red flag.

As far as the credit report just expect it to be bad. The majority of lonnie deal buyers are in their current situation because they cannot take care of their credit. What you want to look for is someone who does not have a history of running debt up and running away (ie bankruptcies). But the caveat to that is medical bills. I love buyers who have only medical bill issues on their credit report because face it we are all going to do whatever it takes to take care of ourselves and family medically even if we cannot afford it.