Now and the Future

Tony wrote an interesting article,

The obvious priority to me in planning for the future would be to only have debt that is paid by others (rent). I don

Rick,

Fantastic post. I love the way your mind works… simple, like me! And the website you linked is priceless. How have I not seen this before?

Bernd,

To your question, why didn’t we see this coming? In my local economy (Michigan) things started to get ugly after 9/11 as I was educating myself to enter the business. Our RE euphoria was in the 90’s when Michigan was a nation leader in prosperity. For me, I have no experience other than with this bad economy so the adjustment has been, for me, minimal.

The pessimistic macro-economic view I have long held is probably what saved my skin. Without the optimism shared by many in the middle of the 2000’s, I may have fell victim to excessive investment debt, consumer debt, or both. I do have to say, I always found it highly frustrating listening to stories at conventions of huge instant equity, or big payday flips due to rapid appreciation. I found myself saying “That’s great, but it doesn’t work where I live”. Where have we heard this before? Apparently, it doesn’t work anymore where they live. For Lonnie deals I am grateful, as it has been a very versatile and resilient tool to have in my tool box.