Newbie MHP Questions - Taping others wisdom

Hi MHUers,

I am new to MHP investing and I’ve been catching upon on the previous threads and upskilling myself. I’ve listened to Frank’s podcasts and reading articles to understand markets a little better. I am gearing up to starting looking for MHP deals shortly.

Sorry if any one of these questions was already asked previously as I couldn’t find them in the previous threads. Sorry again for the long post as I tried to avoid creating multiple query threads. May I know

1. What’s the general expense ratio for a) Utilities paid by residents and b) paid by the landlord? I understand that so many other things influence the NOI. Just want to know for the initial feasibility study

2. Say, if we purchase an MHP worth $1mi, would the depreciation clock resets and can we claim depreciation on the roads, utilities and POH’s that form part of the sale?

3. What’s the min. pad number in a given MHP that would trigger on-site management?

4. What would be the on-site management salary assuming a 75-100 pad sale (on-site accommodation provided via. POH for collecting rents and disbursements etc)?

5. If the incoming landlord decides to install a sub-meter system to pass on the utility costs to the residents, would the landlord be able to pass on the full charges (or) liable to pay any fixed utility costs (assuming there will be two components - fixed portion and usage portion)?

6. Assuming $50K worth of immediate repairs after settlement, would these CAPEX costs be added to the Year 1 expenses that lower the NOI (or) has to come out from the assessed/ established property value?

7. How long the rental leases can be in the MHP industry realistically as a month-month rental lease seems to be a general norm?

8. Can you share your experience in regards to what has been an effective method in contacting MHP landlords about an off-market deal - whether via. text (or) cold-calling?