New member here! Help me find a park!

Hello my name is Mike and I am a part time realtor in NY. New to this site. I want to invest in a mobile home park and would love to be part of this community. A few quick question? Im looking for cheaper end parks to start. What cap rate should I be looking for in a mobile home park? What is preferred POH or TOH? Thank you everyone in advanced! Excited to start building my portfolio!

1 Like

Not sure what you mean by “cheaper end” but my experience is that manufactured home communities with lower rents are much harder to manage than those with higher rents. By “cheaper end” I presume you are seeking the communities with drug dealers, criminals, and perpetual non-payers, and they will eat you alive.

We had a few communities where we were targeting about $600 for lot and home rents combined, and the turnover was large. We put brand new homes and now all-in rents are closer to $1200. The tenant base is much stronger and our problems are much lower.

Good luck but be careful if your strategy is to invest in less desirable property.

2 Likes

You can definitely do a lower priced turn around park…but I would not suggest this as your first park. You’ll likely botch the approach and strategy and either want to quit or actually fail and file for bankruptcy. It’s not easy. There is real risk.

I’d suggest shooting for a middle of the road 3 star park that’s not overpriced. Decent tenants with decent average rents.

We’ve done rough turn around parks…you can buy them “cheap”…if you know how to turn them around you will make a ton of cash in the end. But you need experience before jumping into a wildfire. Trust me on this one.

Golden nugget: if you’re doing a turn around park, come in with plenty of cash.

3 Likes

Mike,