New Buyer Question: Septic vs City Sewer

Hello all! I’m new to the MHP world and I’m actively looking to buy my first park. I’m trying to make sense of the septic vs. city sewer issue. Should I be looking only at parks with city sewer. Is septic “bad” and something I should steer clear of? I’m looking to keep things as simple as possible, so if septic lends itself to a lot of problems, I’ll stay away…but I need to make sure I’m making an informed decision. I welcome everyone’s thoughts! THANK YOU!

1 Like

For your first park do not even think about a park with septic tanks–with experience maybe.

I like the way Frank puts it. If you don’t like whats on the menu, don’t eat at the restaurant. With city sewer , your worst case scenario is a pipe that needs to be roto rootered or maybe a section replaced ( this is making the assumption you did good diligence). With septic, your exposure to larger potential costs rises exponentially relative to a city sewer setup. There are also other variables at play such as regulatory bodies , additional work etc. If everything else about it is superb, you might want to look more into it , but in an apples to apples scenario, I believe its more beneficial to stay with city sewer as you get a grasp on everything else in the park business.

The trade off for buying a city park as opposed to a country park is usually reflected in the purchase price. You pay for the convenience of having city services up front. Ease of operation as opposed to higher cash flow.

Fianna1996, my Husband and I purchased our first MHP which had City Water and Septic Systems.

Septic Systems have many variables. Thus, it is hard to compare one Septic System with another.

Some of the variables are:

• Is it 1 Septic System per 1 Mobile Home?
  • How many bedrooms is each Septic System designed to handle?
  • How much land is each Septic System on?
  • How old are the Septic Systems?