Mobile home park in Florida - need help

Hi Guys,

I’m new in the mobile park biz, I’m looking for buying a mobile home park in Florida.

I’m correctly checking an offer that has a really great CAP rate of 13%, the park also looks great.

The only things that concerns me is that the park has many trees (sewer problems? ) around it and that the park owns all the houses in the park ( 20 lots ).

19 lots are correctly rented

I wanted to know how risky is to be the owner of the houses ? and usually what are my chances to sell those houses to the tenants.

Thanks

A Park with all POH’s is probably NOT A GOOD DEAL AT A 13 CAP! Costs will eat you alive. Take the lot rents only (average of parks rearby in the same condition) subtract lot expenses, figure cap rate from that. Then add wholesale value of the homes. That is your ballpark price. What are the sellers maintenance numbers? If expenses are not 45-50% they are probably understated.

I disagree with Don’s estimate of maintenance.

We own a 80 space park in Michigan, and also own about 25 houses in the park as rentals. The problem we typically face when a tenant defaults (which is quite often here) is either buy the home from the bank and rent it out, or let it disappear from the park forever. Since it costs us $5-8K to move a house in, vs $10-15K to buy it outright from the bank, it makes sense to buy every one that gets foreclosed. Selling the house on land contract is no better for us than renting, since we would then need to pay the 6% sales tax each time we sell the house and face the possible new federal regulations for financing. Also, the total dollar amount would be the same as if we rented it out. Outside financing for our typical tenant is completely non-existent, with a 550 credit score about average here.