Looking @ First MHP Deal

I am looking at an MHP in Upstate NY. I have never done an MHP deal before, and I’d like some thoughts from the more experienced folks here.

1.- The property is being represented by a broker. Would you recommend that I do the same and have get a broker to represent me? I didn’t know what the norm is, but I am always leery when the person I am looking to for advice happens to be compensated directly on the sale. The only experience I have in real estate is on the residential side, where it is customary to have a buying and selling agent.

2.- The listing says that the park owner is asking selling the park confidentially, and asks that the tenants and PM are not to be disturbed. Is this typical? If so… how is someone supposed to do their DD if they can’t talk to the people who would know the most about the property?

I am also trying to confirm my arrangements to attend MOM later this January, to get a thorough understanding from the people who do this on a regular basis.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Steve,

To answer your questions:

1. I do not feel that it is necessary to hire a broker to represent you as it may hurt in getting the broker representing the seller to push your offer through. However, the key is that in whatever offer you make, you give yourself 30-60 days of due diligence in which your earnest money is refundable. Then in those 30-60 days you conduct proper due diligence and do not rely on what the broker or seller says without getting Written proof.