Lease a MHP?

After attending Tony and Scott’s motivating boot camp last August, I offered to purchase a mobile home park I have been running by myself with no help for several years. The owners informed me the land

is worth much more than a mobile home park, they are only holding on to it for the appreciation of the land, which is incredible.

I gave them notice I was going to move on to other things and to find a new

manager and good luck finding one as dedicated as I was/am.

They are now suggesting that I lease the mobile home park only and they of course will hold title to the land. I am very excited about the prospect

but do not know where to start.

Please, I need a little feed back from the vast knowledge that is out there among my peers?

Thank You

Jim,

It all depends on your goals and the terms. Will it pay you enough to make it worth your time, what is your cut? Can you get a long term lease with a stiff early termination clause. Is the park full? Do you live there? What are your short term and long term goals? It is a great thing to have on your “resume” when you do try to buy a park. How long do you think it will be until it is sold for higher and better use? Will you be ready then to buy a rearby park and shuffle the homes over to that park? Could be a win win but set it up so you make money.

Hey Jim!

Great to see you taking action!!!

You may be on the right track with this deal but working the numbers backwards like we taught will tell if this deal makes sense from a cash flow standpoint or whether or not the sellers are trying to make the “higher and best use” profit they believe the land alone represents.

As much as it may be nice to buy the park you are so familiar with, if the seller is not reasonable or motivated, you may not be able to reach terms that make it affordable. No problem, there will be other deals.