Insulating/heat taping water pipes in preparation for winter

I live in a warm climate so I have limited experience with cold winters. Last winter at my mobile home park in Ohio there were multiple occasions of pipes freezing and bursting.

How do you prepare for the approach of winter in a cold climate?

My current plan is to have a letter sent out informing all of the residents that winter is approaching, and they have one week to properly insulate and heat tape their water lines. Then, at the end of that week hire a handyman or plumber to inspect each home and make sure it is properly protected. If any home is not properly protected, I’ll have the plumber do it for the resident and then bill that back to the resident.

Is this similar to how other park operators prepare for cold weather?

Some of our homes are heat-taped, some are not. We don’t have a lot of frozen pipe problems either way (Oklahoma). My only advice, if you do decide you need heat tape, is have it with an ‘on/off’ switch for the heat tape, or simply a plug to be unplugged. That way your residents can save money during the warmer months by not running electricity through the tape.

Best,

-jl-

Being a park owner in the far north (Canada) sort of makes me experienced in this topic.

It’s always good to remind tenants, especially new ones, to turn on and test their heat tapes but that is the extent of your involvement if you do not own the home. If you do own the home, and rent it out, the responsibility to protect the line above ground is entirely yours and your cost.

Everything above ground is the responsibility of the home owner. If a line freezes tell them to call a plumber, it’s not your problem.