I'm not sure where to start

Good evening! I bought a home with a mobile home on the property (Western Nebraska). It’s a 10x40 office trailer that’s been converted into a 1br/1ba with finished drywall and other updates. I’d like to sell it. Where do I start? I should have no problem getting a title, either from the previous owner or a replacement. I have no experience selling mobile homes. Where should I list it? How can I determine the value? What steps need to be taken to prep for it to be moved? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Not sure what you mean by bought a home with a mobile home on the property. Did you buy a single-family residence on a plot of land that happens to have a mobile home in the yard? if so, this is really not the right forum. This forum is for people who invest in mobile home parks not people who buy and sell mobile homes.

That being said, if you have a 10 x 40 home on the property, the value is negative. A 10 x 40 is a very unattractive size to most people. Additionally, the home was conjured from an office and converted which means it is further compromised. If you are lucky, you can give it away for free but you or the buyer would have to hire a mover at about $5,000, which is why it has a negative value. Or, you could probably have it demolished for $5000. If it has been modified, it may be impossible to safely move it due to weight or structural modifications.

1 Like

Thanks, mPark. Your input was super helpful! I’m glad you took the time to type out that rude, crotchety response. Now I know exactly what to do.

1 Like

Great. Thank you for the insult when I gave open honest advice. I assume you were expecting somebody to tell you that a 400 sf office home was valuable.

Btw, there was a typo in my first message. I did not mean to say there was a mobile home park in the backyard. I meant to say there was a mobile home in the backyard. Perhaps that came across as offensive but it was a mistake.

1 Like