Idea for Lot/Home Packages?

Hello to all, and thank you in advance for your help!

I am new to this business. My wife and I have been blessed with a successful mortgage business, and I am looking to put some of our earnings to work in other ventures. Our business does keep us quite busy, so much “hands on” management is not preferred, at least at this time.

That being said, here is somethign I have been mulling over. I was curious if you all could tell me the benefits, and possibly unseen risks of a plan like this:

1. Purchase a decent sized track of rural land, approximately 1 hour from the metro (200 acres, around $1,000 per acre), near a small town.

2. Divide the 200 acres into 40 5 acre lots.

3. Purchase a cheaper, or repo’d mobile home, and have it installed on each lot.

4. Sell the packages for approximately 100-150% markup (if total cost is $20K, sell for $50K), and carry the notes at 12% interest.

This seems like an incredibly low-risk plan, and in case of a foreclosure, my losses would be minimal, because of the mark up.

My thoughts on total cost are:

1. 5 Acres @ $5,000

2. Mobile Home @ $5,000

3. Installation @ 3,000

4. Well, Septic, and Utilities @ 10,000.

Am I missing anything here?

Thank you all in adavnce.

Good concept, but your cost estimates are way low. The $1k per acre land may be doable in some areas- but not likely within 1hr of a major metro area ( if you can buy some that meets your description of price &location - you can sell as profitably without doing any improvments). and you will need to build roads, and you will spend a great deal of money with surveyors, and other subdivision type fees.