I love trees, but trees are evil

Another task on my list is getting rid of trees that look bad or are too close to the units. The problem didn’t happen overnight and I won’t solve it overnight.

Best tree species are obviously a regional thing, but what are some criteria others have used to decide what to plant? Shade is good, but falling things are bad.

Your soil is the most important factor. pH, soil type, and the depths when layers change will 100% help steer the best tree varieties available to choose. You may have several soil types on your property, and the county should have a soil survey that gives you some indication. The forest service or an arborist can probably help investigate as well.

Then consider specific types, growth speed, resistance to disease, fall colors, cold hours (for fruit bearing trees) and any other ancillary benefits.

I took horticulture in college and almost opened a black walnut tree farm when I was younger, so clearly I am an expert.

I will have to consider a Walnut tree or two in the mix. Used to be a wood worker and it would be a cool legacy to grow a couple for some guy who’s probably not even born yet.

I’m torn between tall shade or lower ornamental/privacy. Thanks for suggesting the county or an arborist. Likely to be my eventual direction.

Remember that tree trimming is one of the most dangerous occupations in the nation. Workers Comp rates for tree trimmers are among the highest in the nation. We recommend hiring that work out to insured contractors. Falling out of a tree hurt when we were 10. Don’t try it at 50.

3 Likes

Don’t plant trees.
You own a mobile home park not an orchard.

Walnuts all over the ground are not something your park landscaper will want to deal with. Trust me.