I am a newbie and need some advice please

Hello,

I am about to take my first plunge into the trailer park world and need some advice for my first deal. Here it is

Trailers are all park owned and are all in great shape and rented with long time tennets that are all on month to month currently. Here is the break down. 12 pads 7 with trailers rented and 4 homes rented and 2 duplexes for a total 15 units and $5240 in rents. Rents have a history of being paid by the first of the month via mail. The rents range from 325-370 for tailers 300-325 for duplexs and 410-525 for the homes. 5 more tailers could be added to existing pads and the rents can all ceritainly be raised by at least 100.00

I am trying to calc an offer price for all this. Please ask me more questions and help me learn this business. If I bought this I already have a property managment person that manages my 24 apartments that are in the area. I also could use the same trades people to effect repairs.

Andre,

Good to see you are out there looking. I would initially look at each property as individual income producers.

Only you know what you are willing to pay for an income stream. As a seasoned apartment owner, I would think you could figure out the individual home and duplex values to you, based on their income.

The trick to trailers is not to base the price on the income. Go out and find some comparable parks in quality and determine the going rate for lot rent and base your purchase price of THE PARK on that. THEN determine what you would pay for each trailer if you were to buy them right now, as is. Most old trailers are worth very little unless you are on the left coast. They increase in value by age and condition. There are numerous other issues associated with a park, no matter what size.

On the park:

How old is it?

How old are the water pipes?

What is the septic/sewer situation?

How many Amps are the pedestal boxes?

What kind of heat and A/C do the trailers have?