How many mobile home parks is "enough"?

I am still relatively new in my mobile home investing career, but am trying to plan ahead. What are your thoughts regarding how many mobile home parks are reasonable to own throughout retirement? I am looking at stable parks with about 50-75 spaces with primarily lot rent only. Let’s say in retirement I’m willing to spend 10 hours a week on average managing the business (while also having managers for each park). I know there’s no magic number, but how many parks do you guys anticipate owning throughout retirement while also being able to travel and spend more time relaxing with family and friends?

Also, do any of you anticipate (or are you currently doing this) hiring a local, part-time executive assistant type role to help alleviate some of the day-to-day responsibilities so presumably you could own more parks for the same 10 hour a week time commitment, or is this not a good idea? Again, I know there isn’t necessarily a right or wrong answer here, but am more curious as to fellow investors’ opinions and plans. Thanks a lot for your time in replying!

I’d say owning two such parks might take up about that much time. If your retirement is 15+ years away (e.g. you could reasonably pay off the parks and own them outright) then you’d have no bank debt against, say, 125 spaces. Assuming you purchase decent-quality parks (say, lot rents at the $300/mo. level), then you would be clearing $200 profit from each lot. With 125 lots, your monthly income would be $25,000. That’s a nice retirement in my book. But some would say $5,000/mo. would suffice, and some would say not less than $100,000/mo.

As regards outsourcing, there have been many threads on that topic in this forum. Please search for the keywords ‘bookkeeper’ and ‘oDesk’ to get you started. You would be well-served to read Tim Ferriss’ ‘Four Hour Work Week.’

To your continued success,

-jl-

Jefferson: