Develop or buy park

Is it better to buy an existing park or to develop your own? I’m sure this question depends on a lot of things, but is one neccessarily always cheaper then the other?

Jacob,

If you do decided to develop a park from scratch, I hope you will consider doing a blog. I’m sure many of us would want to read it.

Rolf

I, too, would be interested in knowing the steps involved in developing a park. Buying the land and creating pads. I don’t think I would like to own homes at this point. I’m a beginner and would like the least amount of headaches. Less risk, less rewards I know, but that’ll come later I suppose. :slight_smile:

Thanks,

Nick

You are right there are a lot of vairables in deciding whether to develop or buy an exsisting park. It would really depend on each individuals financial situation. There is a lot of red tape you have to go thru to be a developer. In my county you have to have a plat drawn up, the same as a subdivision and it has to be approved by the county for development with all the lots, septics, or sewer lines etc. shown.

First you need to find property that is suitable for development and within a reasonable price range. You must determine that it has water available to the property. Sewer is great if it is available, however if it isn’t then you may have to go with private Septic Systems. I know most developers are afraid to take this route, but living in a rural area it was my only option at the time. You don’t get as many spaces, but you also don’t have tenants living so close together that they disturb one another either. You can ask higher rentals I have found because of this too.