City Pushback on Grandfathering

Hello everyone and especially Mr. Frank Rolfe, and sorry to be so long winded…

Mr. Rolfe we first meet on a Chicago Mobile Home Park bus tour you sponsored on Saturday April 13, 2013.

I learned a lot during the drive / show & tell followed by the Q&A sessions back on the bus rolling to the next stop / Community.

My name is Karl Breehne and I am an Airline Pilot by trade but the tragedy of 911 in 2001 as everyone knows resulted in devastating many lives and families. As the result of 911 and the severe down turn in the airline industry I worked in the Real Estate industry followed by the Mobile Home industry. The good news is I will never be unemployed again & hung out to dry since my cousin Derrek and I now own and operate a Mobile Home Community that we named 2 Creeks in Rural Greenville, IL which has much potential.

I am back to flying a full schedule for American Airlines and working with Derrek when I am not in the air. I am posting here seeking advice / help / information. I would like to reference an article by Mr. Frank Rolfe printed in THE JOURNAL on APRIL 2013 Page 9 titled “COMMUNITY MANAGMENT PERSPECTIVE” subtitled “The Top 5 Risks To A Manufactured Home Community”. Item 2 Mr. Rolfe discusses “CITY PUSHBACK ON GRANDFATHERING”. We have one of those over bearing City Inspectors Frank refers to in the article. One of the ways we are trying to improve our Community is by removing older homes which are tight spaced wise and replacing them with new or newer homes and the inspector is not backing down on the newer spacing code which is the bad news. Some good news is we threatened to go to court like the article refers and even shared / showed the City gang the article. The City Inspectors boss the City Manager said if my Attorney can convince the city Attorney we are correct on this he will go with what the two Attorneys agree on as law no questions asked & no need for court.