Changing park's name: pros & cons

I imagine myself having bought a park and being stuck with the park’s name which is that of the former owner - in my dream it is Boudro’s MH Park or Sally Ann’s neither of which suits me. If the name is changed, is that going to foul up town records, deeds or anything else I haven’t thought of?

'm not worried about advertising. Need to distance oneself from the prior owner. Anything to consider?

Andy,

I think you’re putting the park before the horse.

:wink:

Anne

Speaking as the new owner of a park named “Ben’s” I’m coming up with new branding next month. We are getting rid of the former owner’s name after 41 years. I would suspect that changing the name may even make it harder for any liabilities to trace to me, but I’m new at this and can’t be sure. But I see no problems with the name change, and already my utilities and other bills are coming in the new name.

I view my investments as long-term, and getting the branding right for the long run will, I think, pay good dividends. I’ve also found that few tenants have ever moved in because of the old ‘brand.’ Instead, they moved in because “Ben’s” was the cheapest park in town. After the name change, we’ll still be affordable, but perhaps not outright cheap. The new branding will stand for 1) safety for families and a 2) good school district.

My 2 cents worth,

-Jefferson-

As for putting the park before the horse, having a new name ready at time of purchase or shortly thereafter will coincide with documentation, change of ownership for utility bills, town records etc. I am concerned about the mailing address to tenants. They have a boxes at the entrance.

Change the name and pick a nice name unrelated to any individual. Example Pine Hill, Riverview etc. Don’t make the same mistake and name it after yourself. This is a common error.