Carrying paper on POH's

I’m new to MHP investing. If I happen to find a deal that has only a few POH’s in it and I decide to go for it, when carrying the paper on the POH’s, does that legally clear me of being liable for them in the same way that it would if I didn’t own them to begin with? (which I know is the ideal scenario). And what is the piece of paper called that actually proves a MH owner owns their mobile home?

You will continue to have a legal obligation to pay Personal Property Taxes and Insurance for POH’s until the Title (yes like a car) has been transferred to the Buyer. You will need to stipulate as part of your Agreement with the Buyer how repairs are handled. Each state has a database of mobile homes you can confirm the current ownership based on the Manufacturer’s Serial # and other information.

A lot of people as part of a Purchase will require the Seller to provide proof of and transfer Title for each home at Closing, and if they cannot then a financial offset is provided for the time and effort it will take you afterwards to obtain those titles. So if there are 5 POH’s and the Seller doesn’t give you title to any of them, your contract will ask the Title Company to reduce 3K-5K for each one from the Purchase price. If you only have a Bill of Sale it will take you 60+ days to get a Title via manual process, and filing fees with the State, lots of certified snail mail, time and frustration.