Build vs Buy

I am a new member to this forum and have found it to be a wealth of information! I have some experience in the RE Development area where I had an opportunity to make a lot of money. Had I invested those profits in Mobile Home Parks, I would be retired today. I just wasn’t attracted to a mobile home park…it didn’t seem very sexy. I was developing Master Planned Communities with single-family homes, townhomes, apartment buildings…you get the idea. Owning a Mobile Home Park just didn’t fit into that mold. Hopefully, I have learned a few lessons, mainly that INCOME is king…not cash!

I have only recently stumbled upon MHP investing and believe it may be just what I am looking for. I am in the early learning stages, but eager to learn everything I can to make sure I know what I am doing and recognize a good deal when I find one. Your site and forum are very helpful and address many issues.

While I am beginning to see what is available, the RE Developer in me is wondering if I could get a good return on a new site in the right location and economy. I have several investors that are looking for the right opportunity and I am wondering if it is possible in today’s economy, given the right location, etc. The area I am most interested in has a strong growth, low unemployment and a real need for housing. I have met with the City Officials, Department of Development, etc and they have no objection to a MHP in City limits and would welcome the housing.

Any suggestions from you experienced owners?

Jeannie,

I would suggest you take a look at this article Frank put together. I think it will answer most of your questions.

Why You Should Never Build A Mobile Home Park

Good luck!

Sincerely,

Brandon Reynolds

President

that response makes me wonder how anyone could think of this as a healthy industry worthy of spending innumerable hours studying and hundreds of dollars on instructional materials