Background Checks

When you buy a park do you do background checks on all the tenants? Do you have them fill out new applications allowing you to run the background check and have them list everyone living in the home?

Thanks,

Leighnae Fabian

Having bought a whopping ONE park (I’m a real expert), I sure wouldn’t. What would you do if you found something bad? Kick out a paying tenant? I’d want to see their payment history, and talk to some of the residents; they’d love to squeal on one of their own who is causing problems. If they’re living quiet lives, and paying their rent, I wouldn’t care about their background.

ALTHOUGH…I was surprised to have a renter for a while who ended up being a level-2 sex offender. The other residents were nervous for awhile, until the guy proved to be completely benign. So, I would run by the police station and ask them if there is anyone in the park who THEY think I should know about.

Dave,

I know your properties are here in Arizona but for others reference in some states there is a gray area in the law about sex offenders being a protected class (not kidding). Many owners and managers won’t screen for that before moving in a resident in California solely due to that gray area. I would suggest talking to your lawyer or your local association before proceeding down the path of running a background check on anything more than credit.

John

Leighnae -