Aluminum Wiring

We inherited an old park owned home that appears to have aluminum wiring. I called up a licensed electrician and was surprised to find he didn’t think it was a big deal. I’m sure other investors on here have inherited trailers with aluminum wiring, have you left the wiring in place or replaced the wiring with copper?

I’m not an electrician first off so take that for what it’s worth, I have however played one on TV.

There may be some merit to what your electrician had to say about your situation, at this point there are ALOT of factors that make an opinion hard to offer.

For example, what kind of service panel is in the unit and what condition are the breakers in. Next I’m curious about the gauge of the wire running to the various circuits. Next there’s the question of how the wire is terminated into the various outlets or fixtures. Finally there’s the question about the size of the load being placed on each circuit.

Worst case would be a Federal Pacific box with original breakers, running 14 gauge wire to outlets that have the wire punched into the back.

Even in the above case there are options. 1st i’d check the functionality of all the breakers, replace any that are tight or don’t reset easily. Back out any aluminum wire that terminates into a breaker and make up a short copper wire “patch cable” use that to terminate the circuit into the breaker. Be sure when making up that little jumper cable to use either the blue wire nuts designed to hold copper and aluminum, or you can use regular wire nuts with the addition of the special paste that you would need to put on the wire ends.

Next i’d consider replacing or at the very least inspecting every outlet and switch. We replaced our mobile home grade outlets (which tend to use punch downs for connectivity) with regular residential grade outlets. DO NOT punch the wires into the backs regardless, use pig tails at every possible location.

Here’s a sample pig tail http://tinyurl.com/d9t34lc