Window heating / AC units

Has anyone ever used the window heating / AC units recommended in MHU podcasts?

I have a 12X60 mobile home that needs a new furnace! I’m thinking of going with the window units! I’ve never used these before for heating. The weather here can get real cold. It was zero degrees yesterday!

Do these work? Any recommendation in size and how many units to place based on the size of this unit?

2 Likes

I’m far from an expert on this subject, but if you’re in a really cold climate heating off an electric window unit may not be the best fit - after a few years the electricity cost to operate will outpace the thousands of dollars required to install gas furnace.

I’d be curious to hear others chime in though.

3 Likes

@AG , as per your post:

• “Has anyone ever used the window heating / AC units…?”
  • “I have a 12 x 60 Mobile Home that needs a new furnace! I’m thinking of going with the window units!..”
  • “The weather here can get real cold.”

We have 2 MHPs in South Carolina.

Our problem is more supplying air conditioning, but we also need to supply heat.

We have used the Window AC Units with Heat in approximately 3 of our smaller, older, renovated singlewide POHs (square footage=720 & 720 & 780). The rest of our POHs have new or newly installed HVAC units (with Heat Pumps).

Our Window AC Units with Heat have served us very well. We have had to replace 1 Window AC Unit with Heat thus far, but that is all the issues we have had.

We ordered our Window AC Units with Heat online from Home Depot for around $699.

Our Contractor installed a Special 230-Volt electrical outlet (will not work with a standard 115-Volt outlet). Our Contractor also installs a Wooden Stand outside to hold up the Window AC Unit with Heat.

We install ours in the actual window. However, the manufacturer states: “the slide-out chassis is designed for either window or wall installation”.

We have had these units for 4 Plus Years.

As per the manufacturer: