Quick Analysis of a MHP in Red Oak, Iowa

I am a newbie and I had been examining this particular MHP for a few days already. Then today I listened to Pitches and Hits with Joanne Stevens where Frank Rolfe and Joanne discussed it.

I think this MHP may be more problematic than it sounded on Pitches and Hits.

According to the Memorandum put out by Joanne, there are 56 physically occupied sites, BUT only 39 paying sites. The ave. lot rent is $260.

So, here’s what I come up with for CAP RATE, given that info:

39 X $260 X 12 = $121,680 X .7 = $85,176 NOI (rough estimate)

$85,176 divided by $1,150,000 = 7.4 CAP

But I also used the quick formula for finding the value of a MHP. Here’s what I got:

39 X $260 X 70 = $709,800

That is a far cry from the asking price of $1,150,000!!

First of all, is my math correct? If so, what would you offer on this park?

Another interesting tidbit: when this owner bought it in 2007, they had 95 lots filled and paying. Now they are down to 39!! Maybe that is just bad management, but maybe it’s something else. There is no metro and the county only has 10k people!! On the other hand, it’s only an hour from Omaha, one of Frank’s favorite cities for MHP’s!

Curious to hear what others think. THANKS!!

Demand is everything.

4 Likes

Got to identify why the occupancy is declining. Brandon is right.

Thanks @JasonS. Macroeconomically, I think factory-built housing is a no-brainer long-term win-win. As I like to say, and I’m half joking when I say it, but if they could build it cheaper, they would. Housing is a tremendously expensive commodity and the single biggest investment/cost in most people’s lives. The ability to “host” this kind of housing is a valuable asset. Long term, I’m positive on the industry.