New to trailer parks and yes, I bought a 9 pad trailer park for an education

Hello everyone, I’m Justin and live in the Unifour area of NC. I am new to this trailer park endeavor, like really new, how new, well just closed on it. I bought a 3 acre 9 pad trailer park that was foreclosed on and then the note past hands a couple of times. There is 5 trailers and 4 empty pads. Yes the property needs love. There are three tenants that have been living on the site and paying no rent through this whole process. One trailer is supposedly owned by the tenant, the other two are supposedly parked owned. The two tenants in the parked owned trailers have to go, 16 cats for one and the other has at least 4 dogs, plus trash everywhere around there places.

Now that you got the basics, the questions.

Best way to remove tenants in the shortest amount of time?
Recommended insurance coverages/plans?
How to check for title ownership?
If trailer is considered abandoned, how do I get the title in my name?

That’s it for now and thanks for any responses, Justin.

2 Likes

The fastest way for you to pick this up is to get some help.

In the MHP’s county you need to find an attorney that specializes in evictions and see that process through. You can then handle it yourself if comfortable. The papers are public record so you can see what that looks like at the courthouse.

You need a general liability, property (utilities, fences, etc), and then personal property (dwelling) coverage on the POH. Recommend Mobile Insurance who writes these nationwide. They have markets for smaller parks, which most of your independent agencies / brokers will not write.

On title issue check with @Snickfish. I have not used them but seen a couple good reviews.

Buy the MHU Home Study Course off this site - and keep reading on the forum. A lot of these topics are covered and can help you along the way.

3 Likes

Best way to remove tenants in the shortest amount of time?
Eviction