Looking for a Partner to Bid on a Well-located Mobile Home Park

Summary

I am looking for an experienced mobile home park operator to partner with for a bid on a mobile home park that is for sale. The park is between 50-70 lots and is a 25 minute morning commute from the downtown of one of America’s top thirty cities in population and top ten in population growth and job growth. The park is listed for between $2.5 and $3.5 million. I, along with some friends and relatives, would put up 50%+ of the equity and would look to my partner to invest the balance (with potential extra-equity out of my end of the deal for the right partner).

About Me

I have a background in finance with 15 years of experience. I worked as a securities analyst at an investment management firm that invested in distressed debt, and as the portfolio manager of my own equity fund. Recently, I have put together a portfolio of rental real estate in Kansas City, Mo.

I was at my cousin’s wedding talking to a real estate lawyer, and she mentioned how lucrative mobile home parks are. This conversation and some research into the numbers got me excited about the mobile home sector.

The Park

The park consists of mostly park owned homes and is ~90% occupied. Lot rents on recently leased lots are $425 and park owned two bedrooms rent for $800. The Park is on city water and sewer, and tenants are responsible for water, sewer, and electric payments. Housing in the area sells for roughly $160/sqft. Other mobile home parks in the area have similar prices and occupancy rates.

Positives

1. Lot rents are high leading to high margins on the lot rental part of the business.
  2. There is a critical mass of park owned homes making it economic to hire someone to maintain them.
  3. The $375 spread between lot rents and home rents should provide for repair and maintenance of park owned homes and some additional profit.
  4. Being near a major metropolitan area, the park is not dependent on one or two employers.