Inheriting tenants with no deposit

Hey MHP people,
I’m purchasing a 60 lot park soon, and inheriting a bunch of residents (they own their homes). The seller has told me that she never collected any deposits from any of them (or signed leases with them). I will get her to put that in writing and sign it, but if that’s the case - when I take over, should I require that everyone pays a security deposit when signing my new lease? Lot rent is 325, what should the security deposit be?
Thanks!
Aaron

I’m a park manager and when the owners bought this park we did request everyone to have deposits. We had some tenants prove they paid deposits and the previous owner said they did not. I think it is wise to have deposits on all homes in the community. You can have an addendum in the purchase contract that any resident who can provide a receipt for deposit needs to be covered by the owner within x number of days post closing. Also before closing you can send out estoppel letters to minimize this problem. At the end of the day though it is wise to get security deposits

1 Like

Might I ask why a security deposit is needed when the mobile home is privately owned? I always thought that security deposits, in apartments etc, were for protection against damages to the rental unit. Things like walls, doors, etc.

That’s a good point. What is the standard for deposits on privately owned mobile homes? no deposit? 1 months rent?

You will probably get a lot of pushback and negative sentiment if you charge a deposit for someone who is a prior tenant. They’ve paid the rent so far, probably they’ll keep paying it. You’re not really getting much benefit from that.

Agree with getting estoppel letters and getting tenants to verify their security deposit amount even if zero.

2 Likes