Finding out lot size in a MHP

Hello All,

I am new to MHP’s, my partner and I are currently investigating a MHP in our local area we would like to purchase. I am wondering where I would be able to locate the information about the actual size of the lots in the park. Do I go to city hall and get a copy of the plat map, will that give me the detailed information I need about the entire tract of land in the park and how its all used, or is that something I need to get from the owner, or other? I do appreciate your feedback and time, thank you.

In a few states that may work, but for most mobile home parks it will not. The lots are usually not legally separated in any form of government record and where one ends and another begins can be arbitrary. You will likely have to measure each lot. For a rough measure, use the measure feature on Google maps. For more precision use a measuring wheel.

I am looking at a park that has supposedly 20 vacant spots. Not all the concrete pads are present and no real defined boundaries that I can tell in some of those areas.

The city is saying it isn’t zoned for MHs and we can’t use the vacant lots. We have spoken with an attorney that says he would take up our cause and doesn’t see any reason we couldn’t use the vacant lots.

If the park isn’t zoned, but we get permission, does the city set the boundaries for what the lots need to be? Are they new or old guidelines? Do we set the lot sizes as we see fit for the total space available as it is just a single parcel with the homes on it? Not sure how we proceed with planning to fill those spaces if we do get permission.