Wholesale threatening to take home

I just received a call from a “wholesaler” saying they purchased a home from one of my tenants. My lease and park rules say I have first right of refusal and This was all done behind my back. Is this work the fight? I found out that the title is in the old park owners name and been passed on to a few different residents without actually transferring it. and of coarse they are behind on rent. Not sure what others do in these situations but this is my first time having to deal with this.
Maybe Ill just go rent a dumpster and tell everyone feel free to fill it up and park it right in front of this home so they cant move it…

1 Like

The wholesalers are getting aggressive - they have cold callers soliciting tenants. I would fight for it. Tell the wholesaler that you have first right of refusal and you are willing to go to court over it. I’d also tell the tenant the same thing. Threaten to drag it out as long as it takes and tell both that it will be expensive… I’d also park a dumpster there.

3 Likes

Agreed! Poachers need swatted away in whatever means possible. One in northern Indiana is watching FB ads by tenants and making them lowball offers. Make them move on to easier pickins’. Or better yet retire.

1 Like

In addition to your lease clause, I would also post signs in your park warning of the ROFR. That will put poachers on better notice and thus strengthen your legal position. Fight this - your reputation as a resister will help ward-off future poaching problems.

1 Like

Wheres the wholesaler located?

If the title was never legally transferred, can you do a lost title search and recover it? My boss of the park I manage kept the name of the park, so he never had to change the titles over. Is that the case with you? Or did you change the name of the park? Was the old title in the name of a person or the park?

1. Ask them for the title.