When looking at parks to buy with a majority of POH's

I’m totally on board with the idea of having no Park Owned Homes. My question is, when I’m looking at parks to buy that have a majority of POH’s, why not just sell them all off at $1.00? It seems easy enough. I know I asked Frank about it and he agreed. I’m just wondering if there are any potential pitfalls I’m missing here?

I am not an expert, but I own a park and have some experience. The problem I see is that you’re effectively giving the home to the occupant. If that tenant is a responsible person who is prepared to be a responsible homeowner, that’s perfect. If not, if the person has a renter’s mentality, has never owned a home before, doesn’t know how to take care of it, doesn’t have the money to take care of it, doesn’t WANT to take care of it…you can be in trouble. You’re not maintaining the home any more because you don’t own it; the tenant’s not taking care of it. It goes downhill, leaks develop that don’t get fixed, windows get broken that don’t get repaired, and on and on. The tenant stays until he can’t stand it any more, and walks away. You now have a mobile which needs to be either junked, which leaves an empty space unless you bring a new one in, or rehabbed, which can cost $10,000 or more (that’s what I spent rehabbing one in just this situation). It seems obvious to us to maintain the home we’re living in, but it’s not obvious to a lot of folks.

So, selling for a buck ain’t necessarily the wonderful solution it appears at first glance. Probably the better way would be to evict the current renter, ensure the home is fixed up, then advertise and sell it for near fair market value. You have a good chance to evaluate the buyer and the buyer has to put some money down so they have skin in the game.

2 Likes

Any homes you sell for $1.00 also need to come along with a new lot rent agreement for 5 years. You don’t want them getting your home and then moving it out of the Park the next day.