What day job transitions best into MHP operations and management?

I recently purchased my first park in Alabama and I am loving it. It’s 100% occupied and I’ve only had issues with 2 tenants out of 40. I feel like I’m basically just cashing checks and that’s one of the reasons I went with this park. Anyways, I currently work as a financial advisor for a major firm but I would like to look at some jobs that would translate best into experience for MHP ownership. I plan to buy at least 3 parks over the next 5 years and once that is done I won’t need a day job, but in the mean time I would like to spend my 40 hours a week doing something relevant to what I plan to do for the next 10+ years. Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Dominic

I don’t understand your question.

You’ll have a phd in park management soon enough without quitting your day job.

Maybe become a handyman?

2 Likes

To put it in more simple terms, if I wanted to becoming a better MHP operator, would it be better to work as a court stenographer or a commercial real estate appraiser? One job would put me in an occupation where I’m constantly honing my relative business acumen and the other would have almost no carry over.

I’m new to the business and asking if anyone has ideas for occupations that are relevant to MHP ownership.

Do what you love to do…isn’t that why you are investing in parks in the first place? for the freedom the additional income provides?

1 Like

Just a thought for you…

There are plenty of poorly run parks out there. You could try mailing some park owners providing a turnkey management service, including the backoffice items. When you get bigger hire a VA to do the monotonous stuff and you review their work and crank out the complicated problems. Maybe if you meet certain performance criteria (that the park owner will think is never achievable at the time) it triggers an option to purchase the park? :wink: