This is a strategy I have been using in my area

Hey everyone!

I hope you all are doing well and getting off to a great 2010. I posted this originally at a creative financing site and then copied and pasted to CRE and I wanted to send it over here too.

I have already done quite a few deals this way in the past few months and I expect to do 5-10 more before the deadline. I wanted to see if anyone is doing this OR see if anyone can profit from it. Good luck!

I have been doing some deals in the last few months with great success. It involves mobile homes on land and I don’t hear other investors talking about this strategy. I wanted to share it, break it down, make it better- perhaps, and hopefully by doing so others here can profit from it.

First, I have been investing in mobile homes on land now for about four years. Actually, 90% of the deals I have done have been mobiles. Back when FHA loans were still somewhat easy to qualify for we were selling homes to our retail buyers with the program. With gift funds through Ameridream(etc), lower qualifying scores, and affordable rates we had a decent system going.

It’s no secret mortgages are much harder to qualify for now. But, IMHO, I think qualifying mobile homes on land is EVEN tougher. Banks are moving far away from these things for many different reasons(different disscusion).

So, for the last year I have been learning and practicing different techniques like lease/options, sub2, wraps, etc. I was able to pick up some really nice deals Subject to the mortgage with nothing down with NO competition. I am still talking about mobile homes on land.

After a direct mailing campaign of STRICTLY mobiles I was flooded with sellers who were desperate to sell. I am talking about homes on the market for 1,2, or 3 years with NO activity. I mean NICE homes. These homes typically were selling for $100-120k two years ago in my market and are now listed around $80-100k. Listed right around payoff amount.