Remote due diligence?

This is a great forum !

I’m a newbie and I have been looking to buy a MHP for the past 6 months. One thing I found out is that the MHP here in California seems always more expensive (in terms of CAP rate) than those in middle west and east coast. So I’m thinking about maybe I should seriously consider looking into some out of state areas, not sure about east coast yet, but certainly Arizona, Texas at least.

I’m using an agent to help me with finding California parks, and my agent and I both then work on the due diligence check list (based on Dave Reynolds book, great book!). So far it seems working well. But when it comes to out of state MHP, can anybody share your experience and advice on how to manage/perform the due diligence and make sure it is done right? – The only idea I have is to find an experienced MHP buyer agent who is willing to help me with the due diligence check list. But what is the best way to find such an agent? Are there any other way?

I read the past threads on this forum, some of you actually prefer to have out of state MHP. Can any of you share your experience in purchasing out of state MHP?

Thanks

Jin

1 Like

Jin,

Sorry to say but I don’t think you are being realistic. There is no substitute for “boots (yours) on the ground” since who else but you is going to really care? Tradespeople do a much better job when the checkbook is right in front of them. Plus you will pick up on situations that others will not think about. Need an example? How about the diseased/dying/dead tree that is leaning towards a home? Let’s say you hire a consulting arborist to look for such situations. Think of how much more valuable his or her services would be if you could also record suggestions for mitigating such problems in the early stages or what type of trees should be planted. Same with other tradespeople. The info they will give you verbally can often be more valuable than what they put in writing.