Newbie question: Do I have A Deal?

I’m new to mobile home investing and need help evaluating a deal. I have a motivated seller who needs to sell before the 1st of next month.

He got this on a trade and has been paying $550 / mo park rent for two months and wants to dump it before having to make a 3rd payment. He wants to get $1,000 to cover his two payments. Here are the facts:

Size: 2bd 1 /ba

Price: $1,000

Yr Blt: 1974

Condition: Move-in ready. One one of the two a/c units serviced. Has an addition. All appliances (w/d, stove, dishwshr), No Fridge

Lot Rent: $555/mo

Community: Senior (55+), but they’ll sell / rent to 35+, plenty of amenities

Comps: 2-3 Other Units for sale at the $5k price point.

Rents in the area: $750 / mo (according to owner)

How would I structure / market this for a quick exit and few thousand in profit? I’m thinking about trying to negotiate him down to $550, paying the $555 lot rent on the 1st (total $1155) and trying to sell it quick for maybe $4,000 before the next lot rent is due.

I’m going by there to take a look at it this evening. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Post Edited (09-20-11 20:47)

Greg,

A couple of key points you need to plan out which is more important than what you can potentially make on this deal. On the basics yes it looks like you should be able to at least double your money. But you need to think of risk mitigation first.

1. Do you have any agreement (in writing) with the park that if you buy the trailer, then:

1a) They wont charge you lot run until you sell it to an approved tenant

1b) You can rent in that park? Many parks do not allows rentals. What are the park stipulations for this

1c) You can put a non 55+ in there – this part seems very odd to me if they are a true senior community; I thought there were strict violations