How to bond with the seller who has a real estate agent?

So I’m trying to buy my first park and, of course, I would like to get the owners to carry the note, but they have been resistant. I have bonding skills and I believe that if I do some bonding, I could make it happen, but I’m wondering how I get to the owners without having to deal with their real estate agent. Is it inappropriate to call the owners directly and arrange a time to visit with them? As you can tell, I’m new at this. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks in advance!

I did that on my first park purchase in December. The broker was frightened the seller would kill the deal by disclosing too much or saying the wrong thing. She was very outspoken and always says what’s on her mind.

We met and sat for hours just chatting. I learned quite a bit about the park, the tenants and all the trouble she had with the park. I knew going in, nothing is perfect, so I appreciated the time we spent together.

I’d suggest setting up time to meet with them and include the broker. I do recommend getting to know the seller, it can definitely help with a smooth transition.

1 Like

It’s a small park and we met once to look it over. The older couple sent me around the park with their son, who is part owner. I’m trying to brainstorm how to get them all together for some bonding time. Perhaps I tell them I have some questions and ask if we can meet over lunch, I buy, or take lunch to them at the park? Could this turn into a time for negotiation? I’m getting nowhere just having my agent go back and forth with their agent.

I wouldn’t negotiate without the brokers there. But I would build rapport so when the offer does come in, its well received.

1 Like