Financing 101 Question

I’m currently searching for my first mhp.

I want to get a handle of the financing side so I am prepared when I find a park to move on. And I would love some lessons learned and perspective.

1. Is it worth speaking to lenders and mortgage brokers now so I have a relationship to immediately work with when I find the right park? Do I just google them up in states? What the best way to find a lender for a park? local banks?

2. Since I am new to mhps (no track record at all), is it going to be harder for me to find financing? I’m not looking at anything too big park wise, but has anyone noticed hesitancy to lend to newbies in the industry or do they not care so long as the land/deal value makes sense?

3. How do you plan for closing costs and down payments? Is it possible to have it all rolled into the loan? I have little to no liquidity as an individual and so I am trying to find ways to make my first deal happen when it gets to that point.

4. Is it hard to get a no-recourse loan? My wife is pretty risk adverse and is nervous about me entering the mhp industry. I want to isolate myself/my family (for her peace of mind and also an added layer for my own). Has anyone found this hard/easy to get in loan deals? Or is it “easy” if the land/deal value makes enough sense?

I know seller financing is something to aim for, but I want to be prepared with options.

I haven’t even set-up an LLC yet. I imagine I will set one up in my current state, then use it as a holding company and leverage a 2nd LLC since I am looking at parks in a few different stages.

I live in VA and am looking at parks in MD, VA, PA, DE, and NC.

Thank in advance for any tips and advice!

1. Yes, It is worth speaking to lenders and brokers now. Just be mindful of their time. If you bring them a small deal, be sure you don’t spend 5 hours on the phone asking questions.