Can I deny 290 registrant (RSO) occupancy in MHPark? Any lawsuits?

Does anyone know of any case where a RSO filed a lawsuit against a MHP for denial of residency due to that specific status, and won? I have been told by one Park Manager at another Park there have been “tons of lawsuits” filed and won by 290 resgistrants (RSO) due to them being denied residency/tenancy in a MHP. I have not been able to find (on-line) any reference to any such lawsuit. (This is CA.) In the most recent application, the 290 registrant is currently out on probabtion, (a heinous case, already spoken with the prosecutors on his case, and they consider him high risk re-offender). He already was living in one Park, violated the probation terms (no contact with minors) - but again, this is CA, so nothing was done.

Thanks in advance.

Who cares about cases (and I was an attorney in one of my prior lives). If you think it is a danger to the residents or to your bottom line, you deny the applicant. If he sues (and sometimes legal services lawyers will take the case for “practice” since they do not get much trial experience), the worst outcome is a trial. If you can get this tried by a jury, you will most likely win even if you defend the case yourself. If you lose (unlikely) you may have to accept the applicant until he violates a park rule or does not pay rent (in which case you go to court as in any other violation).

You cannot worry about every eventuality, just do what your gut tells you. Let us know the outcome.

1 Like

They would have to prove why you rejected them and since you never tell any applicant why they are rejected it would be very difficult for them to prove.
If pressed you rejected because you had a uncomfortable feeling about the applicant.

Here’s a legal opinion on this topic from California:

It would appear that you can refuse housing to registered sex offenders under HUD. But I didn’t have a chance to read the entire decision.