Accounting for Initial Costs of Finding Parks

I’m beginning to look for a park to buy and am starting to incur some costs (e.g. bootcamp/education, postcards, postage, mileage, etc). I think the easiest thing to do is claim these expenses on a Sched C, but was wondering if I should set up a management entity (S-Corp or LLC) instead.

Also, will sellers care if I’m using a personal (yahoo) email account vs. a business email account? I’m thinking it might actually be advantageous to just a regular guy looking for a park when working with Mom & Pop sellers. Any and all thoughts are much appreciated!

You need to check the tax code or talk to your CPA about deducting costs of searching for properties. I am not a tax professional - but you may be surprised to learn that certain expenses are not deductible.

As far as which email you use probably does not matter much IMO. Probably more important is whether or not you want to mix all your personal and business email in the same account.

I actually got audited by the IRS on this exact issue. In 2006 I deducted my real estate expenses (seminars, travel to look at deals, legal on the deal I had under contract, etc.) on my Schedule C even though I had not yet closed on my first MHP. But I was actively looking for a deal in good faith, and did have one under contract by the end of 2006. (I did not have my LLC set up in 2006. I just itemized and deducted the expenses.)