Tru homes vs. Legacy

Weve been buying a lot of Legacy homes over the last year and have been happy with their financing program and quality of the homes. Ive had a few investors telling me that TRU homes are quite a bit cheaper. I know they are 14 wides as compared to the 16 wides we are getting from Legacy but if the price is right, we would switch. My question is… whats the quality of these homes like. Does anyone have experience of what a tru home looks like after a couple of years of tenant abuse. Do they hold up? It wouldnt be worth it if we saved in the front end but then the home falls apart after a few years. Also, does Tru offer any financing like Legacy. Right now were doing 15% down when we buy 10 at a time.

15% down and what’s the APR or terms on the remainder?

I have a lot of experience with tru products so I would be happy to field any questions you might have.

The park owners in my area love them because they’re cheaply priced and they are a great alternative to purchasing repossessed or used homes. You can purchase a 3 bed/2 bath 14x66 box for under $19K delivered within 3 hours of the plant. A 2 bedroom/1 bath can be had for under $16k. That price will include Vinyl windows, Vinyl Siding, Shingle Roof, Zone 3 insulation, House type door w/ storm door, and a dishwasher. Your going to have ABS (plastic) 3 piece tubs and surrounds, and cheap but functional faucets and fixtures, and short laminate scab cabinets. Floor Joists are spanned to a little over 19 inches to save on lumber.

From my experience they seem to be holding up just fine, and retail home buyers are quite happy with the products because they are getting a lot of bang for the buck. Many park operators feel the same.