Tenant refuses to sign lease / rules

Does anybody have experience in Ohio when a tenant refuses to sign a lease? Can there be an acknowledgement within the lease that if the tenant does not sign, the home has to be moved within 30 days, otherwise the lease is automatically enforceable?

Someone should respond with first had experience but you should get a copy of your state landlord / tenant regulations to confirm. You should be able to find them on line.
You should always have a copy of the regulations close at hand.

I have no experience in Ohio. But, generally, I think what you say (the lease is “automatically” enforceable) is the rule. The tenant has a choice to stay and agree/pay, or leave. They don’t have a choice to stay, pay, but not agree, unless the agreement is really something out of the ordinary.

Agreement is documented by “performance” which is paying the rent and not moving out. The rent goes with the rules (make sure delivery is documented) so if they agree to pay the rent they are agreeing to follow the rules (for the time period covered). If they pay the rent then they are agreeing.

Here’s a case I might worry about: If resident pre-paid for a year (under the “old” rules) then perhaps they do not need to agree to new rules before their money (lease) runs out and you have to look up the statute (law) in your state before you insist on changing the rules for them.

It’s different if you’re changing a month-to-month lease with 30 (or 60) days’ notice versus if you are amending the lease in the middle of the term (& they won’t agree to a lease modification). One is a lease renewal, the other is a modification of an existing lease. And they don’t need to agree to that if you’re changing something significant.

Brandon@Sandell

Hi MHPark,

Let me find this from an Ohio attorney and will respond in the next day or two.

Always good to get state-specific answer to general law questions because generally, law is state-specific.