Nitrate removal from waste water. New regulation in state of Michigan?

A mhp in Michigan has septic tanks and drain field system. State health department says in order to get ground water discharge permit. It needs nitrate and phosphate removal.

Does it become a standard now? How to proceed? Any treatment system that can remove nitrate and phosphate?

I am a certified waste water operator in Indiana(its actually my day job as I’ve yet to pull the trigger on a park lol) the new standards began around beginning of the year I beleive. My best advice is to go to your local WWTP and talk to the operator in responsible charge. They can give you better advice on local and state regulations.

Check out these guys.
I do not know about the Phosphate but they have systems for Nitrates.

@MikeDavis does it mean I have to convert septic system to packaging plant in order to comply with the new regulation ?

@Mhpcommunity oh goodness no. The process for removal can be accomplished by chemical or biological means. But works best for your area can differ. That’s why I said to talk to your local WWTP to find out how they are dealing with it.

@mhpcommunity your septic tanks and drainfield system is not capable of removing nitrates, and phosphate in any significant amount You will need to upgrade to a higher level of treatment. Getting nitrate removal is easier than phosphate. The way I like to describe the levels of treatment are as follows going from lowest to highest (in capability to remove nutrients):
drainfield and septic tank, sand filter or mound, recirculating sand filter or ATU advanced treatment unit(orenco or others) decent nitrate removal no phosphorus, package plant, package with additional basin for denitrification, package plant with basin for denitrification and phosphorus removal (either biologically or via sedimentation and filtration). FYI lagoons provide little to no nitrate or phosphorus removal.