MHP Prices are going to fall

As someone with a lot of experience in real estate investing I am extremely concerned with the valuations on parks. Parks that 5 years ago would have sold for 15 caps are now selling at 7 or 8 caps. There is really a bubble. And when that bubble pops (interest rates rising, etc.) MHP prices will be the first to fall. Heck you can get a 7 or 8 cap in a large city owning an actual building that has inherent value. I am going to hold off on purchasing.

What do you mean “inherent value?”

OK, let’s break that post down piece by piece.

I’ve been buying mobile home parks for 20 years, and the cap rates have never been 15%. They have always held in a range of 5% to 10% on decent properties. Five years ago, cap rates were the same as they are now.

Income properties are based on just that: income. Mobile home parks have flourished since 2007’s Great Recession because they focus on affordable housing, which is growing in demand daily as the U.S. economy falls apart. If you think that the U.S. economy is getting stronger and will rocket ahead in the future, then you should be buying McMansions and not mobile home parks. It is a contrarian bet on a poorer America. There is no bubble in income properties unless you assume that rents or cap rates will collapse. Not a chance, in my opinion, when it comes to affordable housing. Class A apartments would scare the heck out of me going forward. You have to invest in what you believe in.

You cannot get a 7% or 8% cap rate on a building in a large city. I get emails from brokers every day on everything from office buildings to industrial, and the going cap rate is around 5% on a quality property in a large metro. And even if they were at 7% or 8% cap rates, I still would not buy them because the future for those tenants is awful, and the income is probably going to drop.