Max to invest in repairing 80's era houses?

I am looking at a park with about 5 vacant late 80’s homes. What is the max in repairs I would put into these before scrapping them? The park is not very impressive looking so I do not think moving new homes in with a bunch of old ones would make the park that much better.

All need underbelly insulation. However they were all lived in the past year.

@toben In the last monthly newsletter Frank said they spend $4k on the renovations but they have system and they know how to do things. When I was flipping mobile homes in 2013 (I was complete newbie), we were spending around $6-8k for complete mobile home renovation.

Sounds about right. It is very hard to get the average down because a lot of things come in large-price “units” such as bathtub, window, door, HVAC, water heater, range, refrigerator, and these are in disrepair a certain percentage of the time. One person can paint maybe two rooms per day, and everything prior to painting takes time too. If the floor is soft, you’ll have to repair that. By the time you’re finished, you could be into it for $10k or more. However, a new home costs about $40k all-in (maybe you can get a little cheaper, but not much after installation &c). So there is a big delta between [new home @ $40k] and [used home @ $20k (includes some profit for you or maybe you budget $5k for purchase & $5k moving/installing).

The “homes” side of the business is the dirty little secret that no-one talks about. It is very expensive to fill your park if your residents aren’t going to do it for you (by coming in fully financed with their own home, for example).

Whether you run a rental model or a sales model, people want to pay over time and you are out all the cash up front. That’s a tough business, especially if you don’t have a good “pump” and a good “filter.”

5 Likes

This is the formula my thinking has evolved to: