Lots of work or Overpriced

I’ve been evaluating parks for about 6 months and either find them overpriced or too much work. The latest is too much work. I spoke to the seller and he said I shouldn’t buy it, since I’ve never had a park before.
Its in Morganton NC, 24 lots with metered city water, sewer and electric. 8 acres only 2 park owned homes. Lot rents $200. Asking price is $170k with seller financing.
The problem is the park only has 3 homes.
Seems like if I had a good source of homes and someone local to manage, its be quite an opportunity.

Anyone have resources in the area and want to partner with a newb?

Questions:

1 - What’s your definition of overpriced for stabilized park? What cap rate do you demand and what COC do you personally demand with, say 75% LTV and 10 year fixed financing?

2 - Given your definition in #1 are you finding parks overpriced based on asking prices or based on the counters you have received from a decent sample size of parks you have actually made hard offers on with accompanying proof of funds? Where are you finding these overpriced parks - just online listings you browse? Or are you also finding broker pocket listings of off market deals to be overpriced for your taste? If so, overpriced by how much?

3 - Have you also done comprehensive local market research on the deals you’ve considered to determine where you could reasonably reset rents to on closing, and over time - and then constructed an actual 5 or 10 year IRR based on conservative estimates of cash flow and an exit price for a hypothetical sale 10 years from now?

1 Like

Ive been looking on Craigslist, Loopnet and Mobilehomeparkstore.com. Many I see, in a price range I can purchase, are advertised around an 8 cap, but after looking deeper, they are closer to a 5.

I also just put together a list of parks in my area to begin sending direct mail.