Land/Home Flipping in this economy? Questions for Greg Meade?

I currently have access to about 150k cash that i can borrow. I am looking at buying REO land home deals here in NC. Is this a good strategy in today’s market? I need cash right now, then once i get some cash saved up I want to get into more longer term investing with MH’s. I have access to the MLS and it looks like there are 2 major players in my area that are flipping land home packages and making around 20- 50k every time. However, it looks like they have been in the business for awhile and i am a newbie. I understand that Greg likes to flip land home packages. Greg do you have any suggestions and things that I should be aware of? I am running comps on the MLS, I am looking to just put new carpet in and paint to the DW’s. thanks for any input!

I hope Greg will jump in but I wanted to add my 2 cents. I invest in land/home properties (even wrote a book about it) in North Carolina.

My limited exprience trying to flip land/home packages had lead me to suggest to all investors that at best, in good times, land/home packages are good SLOW flips.

Does this mean folks have not made money flipping quickly? No. I am sure some have. My fear is that a newer investor such as you stated you were, might be the one stuck holding the property when the music stops. I can only imagine that many “house flippers” were caught when the credit crisis collided with the inflated real estate bubble.

Even if you decide that your first exit strategy is to flip a property, please do yourself and your bank account the service of buying so that the property cash flows in the event you cannot sell. Safe beats gambling in my book.

Tony