How Do You Manage MHP From Different State?

Hi everyone,

I’ve learned a lot about mhp investing from reading through the forums and on this great site in general so I thought it’s about time I ask one of my own questions! My husband and I own a handful of single family investment homes so aren’t total newbies when it comes to real estate investing but are looking to scale and make the jump into mobile home parks. We plan on attending the boot camp in Orlando next year and are doing tons of reading, research, etc.

My husband is in the Air Force and will be retiring in about 4 years so we are looking to buy 1-2+ decent sized communities (at least 40 pads) that would earn great returns/cash flow. As is the case in the military we will probably be moving to a new base or even country in the next few years- is it feasible to own a mhp from a different state and how would we go about hiring a trustworthy manager or operator? Are there businesses that provide mhp management so we just pay them a monthly fee or % (like in apartments, etc.) and they take care of everything? We are a little nervous about the management of it all, knowing that we probably won’t be living near one that we buy and won’t be able to check up on it frequently. How have you found the right person/people to make sure the park is safe, running smoothly, tenants paying on time, etc.? Any advice or help is appreciated!

Thanks,
Tiffany

Tiffany

Lets stay in touch

What is your contact information ?

Email it to Michael@Strattonre.net

Netincomeusa.com

Hi, do you offer park management or can offer advice on my questions? Thanks.

1. Is it feasible to own a mhp from a different state? Absolutely.
  2. How would we go about hiring a trustworthy manager or operator? Preferably, buy a park that already has an onsite manager.