Current midwest market!?

Been looking for a park in the upper midwest (ND, SD, MN, IA, WI) for a couple of years.

I have 20 years investment property experience, but the mobile home park business has been a tough nut for me to crack.

I am a buy and hold guy, and am looking for a park that is not on septic, and well, at or under 1MM. Small towns are OK with me.

I have made written offers on 2 parks, one was an off market at an 8 cap that was rejected as they just weren’t ready to sell (I am keeping in touch), and made another offer on a park that was around a 10 cap but we were negiotiable. The sellers rejected the offer and didn’t counter but agent says they are motivated.

BUT with that said it seems parks in this region (and maybe the rest of the US) seem to be hot and have been for a while.

There has been several parks I have come across that go under contract almost immediately. By the time I schedule a drive to check them out to view the agent calls back and says sorry sold.

Probably more venting, but what am I missing? Is this market that hot that parks in small midwest towns of a couple thousand are selling withing a day or two of listing? I mean these are’t big metros or even near big metros were talking rural America.

Thoughts?

You aren’t making enough offers. Two written offers in two years is not going to land you a park. You need to put more shots on goal.

Buyers are everywhere even small towns and septic and wells. If a property has a 8 cap WHY did you not buy? Had a buyer a month ago on one of our parks placed a contract and plan on closing in August. We threw a number in the air and they said, “FINE”. No price haggling or price in question. Wanting to know if we had other parks and we do but not wanting to sell the CLASSY ONES that will go for really low cap rates. If you have a solid 7 cap park including a RV park we have cash to close in less than 30 days—presently will not buy in a blue state!!

Thank you for the feedback.