Contract Assignment Question

I am new to the business and have a park under contract that I may decide to pass on and I had some question about assigning the contract.

Am I still expected to complete DD if assigning the contract? Or does the person buying the contract complete?

Once the assignment fee is negotiated, is there any kind of formal agreement saying that party B is being assigned the contract from me? I don’t want the person being assigned to to be able to bail on the deal at the last second and then I’m legally obligated in some way to purchase the park or lose my earnest money.

Should I be trying to assign every contract that I decide to pass on? Or does it make sense to just drop the deal and move on?

Thank you for any suggestions.

1 Like

When you assign a contract, you will want to be easy to buy from. So, you should complete as much diligence as humanly possible for your buyer. I would say that you should do everything short of an on-site visit and third party reports. You want to be able to hand over a very robust set of documents and research to the person who is buying your contract. You typically only get one shot to assign a contract so make sure everything is out in the open as much as possible so everyone’s expectations are reasonably set on the front end. In other words, try to uncover as many surprises as possible so your buyer can accurately gauge their real interest.